Runtime error '9' subscript out of range

Things you’d like to miss in the future...
JohnM
Posts: 230
Joined: 08 Jun 2006 11:59
Location: Tasmania, Australia

Runtime error '9' subscript out of range

Post by JohnM »

Hi all,

I just this moment installed 7.90.0064 (gotta keep up with the latest :D )

When I go File->Settings->Save all settings, I get:

Runtime error '9' Subscript out of range.

Cheers
John
Windows 8.1 x64
XYplorer 21.30.0001 beta

j_c_hallgren
XY Blog Master
Posts: 5824
Joined: 02 Jan 2006 19:34
Location: So. Chatham MA/Clearwater FL
Contact:

Re: Runtime error '9' subscript out of range

Post by j_c_hallgren »

:( I just got similar! Except XY just flashed a screen so quick I couldn't see it and then terminated.

Another bug(s) in this vers? ---

It created a tag.dat at install (I didn't have one before) but without default colors, so not able to use it to assign tags! All it has is the header line and blank 2nd line.

Also, when I renamed tag.dat when XY closed, it didn't recreate one on next XY open as I had expected it to.
Still spending WAY TOO much time here! But it's such a pleasure helping XY be a treasure!
(XP on laptop with touchpad and thus NO mouse!) Using latest beta vers when possible.

herakles
Posts: 14
Joined: 16 Dec 2008 15:06

Re: Runtime error '9' subscript out of range

Post by herakles »

The No-Install package doesn't create tag.dat automatically, I had to create it manually. But after that everything works like a charm here.

This is such a cool feature, Don. Thank you very much.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 49999
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: Runtime error '9' subscript out of range

Post by admin »

Hunting the bug...
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

Linkaday
Posts: 294
Joined: 06 Aug 2007 14:40
Location: Hamburg, Germany - Win 10 Home v2004 x64

Re: Runtime error '9' subscript out of range

Post by Linkaday »

No idea if this could be of help in spotting it. Started on USB stick hosted by a win2k SP4 machine it results in XY crash with fatal abortion event sound. But INIs seem to be saved alright as well as DATs (with the exception of not changed tag.dat) - modtime column shows a difference of 3 minutes (!? :roll: ), INIs last. And - it crashes only the window, the process resides in memory calling.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 49999
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: Runtime error '9' subscript out of range

Post by admin »

Linkaday wrote:No idea if this could be of help in spotting it. Started on USB stick hosted by a win2k SP4 machine it results in XY crash with fatal abortion event sound. But INIs seem to be saved alright as well as DATs (with the exception of not changed tag.dat) - modtime column shows a difference of 3 minutes (!? :roll: ), INIs last. And - it crashes only the window, the process resides in memory calling.
Thanks, I got it. But there's another one... :twisted:
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

JohnM
Posts: 230
Joined: 08 Jun 2006 11:59
Location: Tasmania, Australia

Re: Runtime error '9' subscript out of range

Post by JohnM »

Hi Don,

My problem is fixed in the new version.

Cheers
John
Windows 8.1 x64
XYplorer 21.30.0001 beta

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 49999
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: Runtime error '9' subscript out of range

Post by admin »

JohnM wrote:Hi Don,

My problem is fixed in the new version.

Cheers
John
Don't worry, there will be new ones. :mrgreen:
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

Chris Wood
Posts: 272
Joined: 25 May 2004 13:01
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Runtime error '9' subscript out of range

Post by Chris Wood »

True - I just had this error happen, and I wasn't do anything special. I have no idea why it happened, which I know is pretty useless as a bug report, but just letting you know as a good tester should.
test everything. hold on to the good.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 49999
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: Runtime error '9' subscript out of range

Post by admin »

I'm hunting it...
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 49999
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: Runtime error '9' subscript out of range

Post by admin »

admin wrote:I'm hunting it...
... and got it! :D
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

zer0
Posts: 2673
Joined: 19 Jan 2009 20:11

Re: Runtime error '9' subscript out of range

Post by zer0 »

admin wrote:
admin wrote:I'm hunting it...
... and got it! :D
There is another Satan's minion in there somewhere, because last night I encountered it when doing some heavy duty copying/moving.
Reporting a bug? Have a wish? Got a question? Use search - View roadmap - FAQs: Forum + XY site
Windows 7/10
Always using the latest stable two-decimal build

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 49999
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: Runtime error '9' subscript out of range

Post by admin »

zer0 wrote:
admin wrote:
admin wrote:I'm hunting it...
... and got it! :D
There is another Satan's minion in there somewhere, because last night I encountered it when doing some heavy duty copying/moving.
I'll get this one too. :twisted:
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

zer0
Posts: 2673
Joined: 19 Jan 2009 20:11

Re: Runtime error '9' subscript out of range

Post by zer0 »

admin wrote:I'll get this one too. :twisted:
I have become victim of it once again, while copying of course. What is particularly bad is that clicking OK on "Subscript..." pop-up kills XYcopy process, but XYplorer is none the wiser and keeps thinking that a job is in progress. Don't believe me? Here is screenshot proof:
xycopy_subscript.png
xycopy_subscript.png (40.86 KiB) Viewed 1920 times
Reporting a bug? Have a wish? Got a question? Use search - View roadmap - FAQs: Forum + XY site
Windows 7/10
Always using the latest stable two-decimal build

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 49999
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: Runtime error '9' subscript out of range

Post by admin »

zer0 wrote:
admin wrote:I'll get this one too. :twisted:
I have become victim of it once again, while copying of course. What is particularly bad is that clicking OK on "Subscript..." pop-up kills XYcopy process, but XYplorer is none the wiser and keeps thinking that a job is in progress. Don't believe me? Here is screenshot proof:
xycopy_subscript.png
Yes, but the error concerns me more. Alas, I cannot reproduce it.
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

Post Reply