Bringing up an item's Properties via KB causes a system beep

Things you’d like to miss in the future...
Mesh
Posts: 934
Joined: 24 Mar 2008 21:22

Bringing up an item's Properties via KB causes a system beep

Post by Mesh »

I noticed something minor in 7.00.0020. If you have a file or folder selected, and you hit Alt-Enter in order to bring up the Properties of that item, XY generates a system beep. The same action in Windows Explorer brings it up silently, as does doing it in XY via the context menu. It's only the KB shortcut that causes it.

serendipity
Posts: 3357
Joined: 07 May 2007 18:14
Location: NJ/NY

Post by serendipity »

No beeps here with KB alt+enter. hmmm wonder whats different.
btw: on 7.00.0021

j_c_hallgren
XY Blog Master
Posts: 5824
Joined: 02 Jan 2006 19:34
Location: So. Chatham MA/Clearwater FL
Contact:

Post by j_c_hallgren »

I almost never use this KS but just tried it on both 20 & 21 vers and they both beep here...I vaguely recall something about this beep thing from long ago, but unable to check it now...
Still spending WAY TOO much time here! But it's such a pleasure helping XY be a treasure!
(XP on laptop with touchpad and thus NO mouse!) Using latest beta vers when possible.

Muroph
Posts: 561
Joined: 21 Aug 2007 16:13

Post by Muroph »

i also get a beep.
and with some others KS as well, like shift+alt+z and shift+alt+c.

on a side note, i have assigned alt+shift+s as a KS, but when i use it xy also opens the script menu.
this doesn't happen when the KS opens a dialog box (like a rename preview).

bgoodmansf
Posts: 6
Joined: 22 Jul 2013 17:54

Post by bgoodmansf »

I can confirm this problem still exists in XYplorer 12.60 with Win7/64bit. It's really annoying.

bg

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50567
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: Bringing up an item's Properties via KB causes a system

Post by admin »

Last time I tried to fix this is years ago, but I don't think I'm smarter now. Certainly one of the most embarassing flaws in XY. Thanks for pointing at it. ;)
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

TheQwerty
Posts: 4353
Joined: 03 Aug 2007 22:30

Re: Bringing up an item's Properties via KB causes a system

Post by TheQwerty »

Based on http://stackoverflow.com/questions/3662 ... yskeypress and http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library ... S.85).aspx it seems to be a result of a keyboard shortcut which activates the menu but does not correspond to any valid acccess key.

Could you have these keys return a MNC_CLOSE instead of MNC_IGNORE? :?

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50567
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: Bringing up an item's Properties via KB causes a system

Post by admin »

TheQwerty wrote:Based on http://stackoverflow.com/questions/3662 ... yskeypress and http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library ... S.85).aspx it seems to be a result of a keyboard shortcut which activates the menu but does not correspond to any valid acccess key.

Could you have these keys return a MNC_CLOSE instead of MNC_IGNORE? :?
Nice idea, but it failed and I can quote somebody from the web who failed too:
"tried adding a WM_MENUCHAR handler and returning values other than
zero -- no luck......ding "
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

TheQwerty
Posts: 4353
Joined: 03 Aug 2007 22:30

Re: Bringing up an item's Properties via KB causes a system

Post by TheQwerty »

admin wrote:Nice idea, but it failed and I can quote somebody from the web who failed too:
"tried adding a WM_MENUCHAR handler and returning values other than
zero -- no luck......ding "
Oh well.. that exhausts my five minutes of searching. :P

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50567
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: Bringing up an item's Properties via KB causes a system

Post by admin »

Yes. I spent countless hours killing the menu ding. No chance. I gave up.
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

grindax

Re: Bringing up an item's Properties via KB causes a system

Post by grindax »

.
Last edited by grindax on 24 Jan 2016 13:37, edited 1 time in total.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50567
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: Bringing up an item's Properties via KB causes a system

Post by admin »

Thanks, but does not kill the beep.
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

bgoodmansf
Posts: 6
Joined: 22 Jul 2013 17:54

Re: Bringing up an item's Properties via KB causes a system

Post by bgoodmansf »

admin wrote:Last time I tried to fix this is years ago, but I don't think I'm smarter now. Certainly one of the most embarassing flaws in XY. Thanks for pointing at it. ;)
Sorry to poke a sore spot.

XYplorer is an excellent piece of work, and I'm impressed at the care you take. I've been going through a series of file managers over the last few years trying to find one that didn't drive me crazy. Mostly I found compromises that were better than Windows Explorer but still flawed. I've been using XYplorer for about a week and it seems great so far. I don't think I've seen a single bug so far. Most of the competition lasts about 2 minutes before I see something fail.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50567
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: Bringing up an item's Properties via KB causes a system

Post by admin »

No problem at all (and thanks for the praise!)! This beep really sucks, but it seems (researching the web) that nobody ever (in any programming language) could kill it in a reasonable way.

What you can do (in case you are really a hardcore keyboarder): hide the whole menu (Alt+Up). Then the beep goes away.
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

Mesh
Posts: 934
Joined: 24 Mar 2008 21:22

Re: Bringing up an item's Properties via KB causes a system

Post by Mesh »

admin wrote:No problem at all (and thanks for the praise!)! This beep really sucks, but it seems (researching the web) that nobody ever (in any programming language) could kill it in a reasonable way.
Except that it doesn't occur in Windows Explorer. So either there is a way, or maybe you might be able to use Windows Explorer to handle that task in the background instead of doing it directly through XY?

Post Reply