Glitch with toolbar option Autosize

Things you’d like to miss in the future...
klownboy
Posts: 2691
Joined: 28 Feb 2012 19:27

Re: Glitch with toolbar option Autosize

Post by klownboy » 05 Apr 2019 13:08

Oops, thanks Don. :tup:

klownboy
Posts: 2691
Joined: 28 Feb 2012 19:27

Re: Glitch with toolbar option Autosize

Post by klownboy » 05 Apr 2019 13:51

Though Don, now that you have toolbar scaling down, it might be nice to have the toobar scaling in unison when you scale all the fonts, panes and bars with ctrl-wheel. So we're not doing the TB separately with ctrl-shift wheel and everything else with ctrl-wheel.

jupe
Posts: 1110
Joined: 20 Oct 2017 21:14
Location: 1903 x64

Re: Glitch with toolbar option Autosize

Post by jupe » 05 Apr 2019 14:13

FYI Ctrl+Wheel only, adjusts the toolbar caption font size when captions are enabled, it isn't unused, and button zoom was Ctrl+Wheel originally until font size of captions became adjustable in about version 18.8x

klownboy
Posts: 2691
Joined: 28 Feb 2012 19:27

Re: Glitch with toolbar option Autosize

Post by klownboy » 05 Apr 2019 15:13

Hey thanks Jupe for the clarifications and forgotten background. Though I still think it would be nice to be able to scale everything at once. How many people are frequently scaling toolbar captions (personally I don't use them). Possibly relegate that function to some other key combo such that everything including the toolbar can be zoomed with ctrl-wheel...just a thought...essentially bringing back TB zoom with ctrl-wheel so they're all in unison.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 46951
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: Glitch with toolbar option Autosize

Post by admin » 05 Apr 2019 17:55

Unison was the idea behind the current way: Now all fonts are zoomed by Ctrl+Wheel.

klownboy
Posts: 2691
Joined: 28 Feb 2012 19:27

Re: Glitch with toolbar option Autosize

Post by klownboy » 05 Apr 2019 19:00

Oh OK, I see your point with fonts. But, how important is scaling toolbar captions other than that consistency (i.e., who is changing font size of toolbar captions on some regular basis)? I think it would be more visually pleasing to see the toolbar icons scaling when the font size is scaled essentially everywhere else. It could also zoom TB captions if on. Yes, you can scale the toolbar independently, but it would be a nice affect to scale everything at once.

jupe
Posts: 1110
Joined: 20 Oct 2017 21:14
Location: 1903 x64

Re: Glitch with toolbar option Autosize

Post by jupe » 06 Apr 2019 03:28

Touchscreen mode can be set up to scale everything at once, although without granularity, but if someone needs to quickly enlarge (only) everything together it could be used. Personally my opinion FWIW is I don't want everything to zoom in unison, I like having independent zoom in each area, so if it was implemented I hope it would be optional, but I am indifferent about the shortcut keys used for toolbar zoom, although I would never ever use toolbar captions, also I would never use Extra Large buttons setting for toolbar, but yes I agree Don 1.5 would be better zoom level as default.

klownboy
Posts: 2691
Joined: 28 Feb 2012 19:27

Re: Glitch with toolbar option Autosize

Post by klownboy » 06 Apr 2019 12:57

Yes, I have the Touchscreen button on my toolbar and I do use it. I find the jump in font size way too much for me. The transition from small toolbar icons to large is fine, but I wish we could establish the font size of touchscreen or large font size maybe via a tweak or setting. So maybe that ought to be the wish...control the jump in font for touchscreen (i.e., control the amount of increase).

I too like to be able to independently change size of the toolbar and fonts etc. I just thought it would be great to be able to accomplish in in one motion as well.

Post Reply