Settings are erroneously saved

Things you’d like to miss in the future...
mikeyww
Posts: 54
Joined: 25 Feb 2019 13:08

Re: Settings are erroneously saved

Post by mikeyww » 07 Apr 2019 17:03

admin wrote:
07 Apr 2019 16:36
Did you use any of the commands in the Tabsets menu?
No. I do not routinely use the Tabsets menu; I do not load or save tabsets. I use only one recurring tabset that was previously saved.

I have now set another program to alert me about any changes to the panes INI files within 15 seconds of a change. That might help me in tracking down the issue.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 47430
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: Settings are erroneously saved

Post by admin » 07 Apr 2019 17:12

Good idea. Curious about the results...

jupe
Posts: 1176
Joined: 20 Oct 2017 21:14
Location: 1903 x64

Re: Settings are erroneously saved

Post by jupe » 08 Apr 2019 06:01

It sounds like you could be getting the default set of tabs mixed up with the Tabset features, so you might be able to totally disable Tabsets, for your workflow via:

Configuration | Other | Features | Tabsets

and you have Tabs checked in you Remember across sessions check boxes, so if you performed a manual save then it would make that tab reload across sessions, unless I am mistaken.

mikeyww
Posts: 54
Joined: 25 Feb 2019 13:08

Re: Settings are erroneously saved

Post by mikeyww » 08 Apr 2019 13:17

You may be right, but I suspect a bug in there somewhere, because my tabsets are being saved periodically without my approval! I do not generally save any new settings manually.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 47430
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: Settings are erroneously saved

Post by admin » 08 Apr 2019 17:10

Check the Status Log (right-click Status Bar), look for "settings saved:" ...

mikeyww
Posts: 54
Joined: 25 Feb 2019 13:08

Re: Settings are erroneously saved

Post by mikeyww » 08 Apr 2019 17:18

That's helpful. Nothing yet; will keep an eye out....

mikeyww
Posts: 54
Joined: 25 Feb 2019 13:08

Re: Settings are erroneously saved

Post by mikeyww » 18 Apr 2019 00:32

The issue has recurred. I was able to reproduce the problem this time!
  1. Run XY. I use a portable installation with a locked pane tab on each side, as noted above.
  2. Open a new tab on the right side. I now have one tab on the left, and two on the right.
  3. Configuration -> Preview -> Previewed Formats -> Toggle User-Defined Preview Handlers
  4. Exit without saving.
  5. Upon running XY again, the temporary tab is now erroneously displayed along with my usual locked tabs.
I verified that \Panes\2\pane.ini was modified such that "Location=..." now refers to the erroneous tab that should not reappear upon restart.

This is the first time that I have used the UDPH, but the problem has occurred in other contexts as well, and so is more like a problem that occurs when certain settings are changed, or when certain kinds of windows (e.g., preview or file finder) are displayed.

highend
Posts: 8247
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Re: Settings are erroneously saved

Post by highend » 18 Apr 2019 04:28

I was able to reproduce the problem this time!
I'm not (with the steps you've provided)...
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal or highend (at) web (dot) de

mikeyww
Posts: 54
Joined: 25 Feb 2019 13:08

Re: Settings are erroneously saved

Post by mikeyww » 18 Apr 2019 12:18

highend wrote:
18 Apr 2019 04:28
I'm not (with the steps you've provided)...
I wonder if you used the same settings.

highend
Posts: 8247
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Re: Settings are erroneously saved

Post by highend » 18 Apr 2019 12:35

I am...
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal or highend (at) web (dot) de

mikeyww
Posts: 54
Joined: 25 Feb 2019 13:08

Re: Settings are erroneously saved

Post by mikeyww » 18 Apr 2019 13:15

Also:

Code: Select all

TabsetsNoPaneActivation=1
AutoSaveTabsets=0
TabsetsCanRevertAcrossSessions=0
What are your thoughts about differences between our systems?

highend
Posts: 8247
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Re: Settings are erroneously saved

Post by highend » 18 Apr 2019 14:09

TabsetsNoPaneActivation=1
AutoSaveTabsets=0
TabsetsCanRevertAcrossSessions=0
Same.
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal or highend (at) web (dot) de

mikeyww
Posts: 54
Joined: 25 Feb 2019 13:08

Re: Settings are erroneously saved

Post by mikeyww » 18 Apr 2019 14:16

There could be a ghost inside my computer. Others have reported such things in the past.
I still wonder if any other differences could be accounting for this recurrent problem.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 47430
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: Settings are erroneously saved

Post by admin » 08 May 2019 10:04

admin wrote:
08 Apr 2019 17:10
Check the Status Log (right-click Status Bar), look for "settings saved:" ...
What about this. Saw anything...?

mikeyww
Posts: 54
Joined: 25 Feb 2019 13:08

Re: Settings are erroneously saved

Post by mikeyww » 08 May 2019 12:09

I'll watch for the problem again, but I'm mostly using a different file manager now, so my opportunities to catch this will be less frequent. I'll report back if I learn anything.

Post Reply