List doesn't auto-refresh

Things you’d like to miss in the future...
Jerry
Posts: 708
Joined: 05 May 2010 15:48
Location: DysTrumpia

List doesn't auto-refresh

Post by Jerry » 24 Jan 2017 17:32

This has been happening for a long time, and unfortunately, I still have been unable to come up with a reproducible protocol. So I wonder if anybody else has been seeing this or if it's just an issue in my system, perhaps related to my USB bus, hubs, and/or many attached drives. I have Auto-Refresh always enabled, and Suspend Auto-Refresh always manually turned off, or at least I never see it enabled when I immediately go and check it following an occurrence of the problem. I also have removed any keyboard shortcut for Suspend Auto-Refresh, thinking I was inadvertantly hitting Ctrl-R. Yet, I sporadically encounter situations, daily, where files changed/renamed/created/deleted outside of XYplorer fail to show in the List. The list also fails to refresh from within XYplorer, again sporadically -- when I run a script to change the read-only status of selected files.

My attached drives do go to sleep when inactive, but this isn't happening with the drive I'm performing the operation on, obviously. Though, other drives may be asleep on the bus at the time. And the problem often appears on my notebook's internal drive as well.
Last edited by Jerry on 08 Feb 2017 15:46, edited 1 time in total.
Running on Windows 10 Pro 64-bit quad-core ASUS G752-VY notebook with 64 GB RAM, 20 or more external USB3 drives attached via 4 powered hubs, totaling 50+ TB.

zer0
Posts: 2673
Joined: 19 Jan 2009 20:11

Re: List doesn't auto-refresh

Post by zer0 » 08 Feb 2017 15:42

Yes, I notice that from time to time too. Most often when using an external drive. My suspicion is that drive spin-down affects auto-refresh where files can still be written to it or MFT updated, but an explicit refresh is sometimes needed. Unfortunately, XY generates no log files for me to dig into further.
Reporting a bug? Have a wish? Got a question? Use search - View roadmap - FAQs: Forum + XY site
Windows 7/10
Always using the latest stable two-decimal build

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48978
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: List doesn't auto-refresh

Post by admin » 09 Feb 2017 15:40

Actually you can log the shell notifications that XY receives from Windows. This will activate the logging (not saved across sessions):

Code: Select all

logchange 1+2+4;
This will show the log:

Code: Select all

text get("debuglog");
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Wear DIY masks! 😷

Jerry
Posts: 708
Joined: 05 May 2010 15:48
Location: DysTrumpia

Re: List doesn't auto-refresh

Post by Jerry » 09 Feb 2017 15:52

admin wrote:Actually you can log the shell notifications that XY receives from Windows.
Very good to know. I will routinely do that and post the portion of the log around the time I have the problem. What text is in the normal message in the log when XY receives a file notification from Windows?
Running on Windows 10 Pro 64-bit quad-core ASUS G752-VY notebook with 64 GB RAM, 20 or more external USB3 drives attached via 4 powered hubs, totaling 50+ TB.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48978
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: List doesn't auto-refresh

Post by admin » 09 Feb 2017 16:44

You will receive lots of messages in the log. When the List doesn't auto-refresh, you should check the recent log and see whether the event (recognizable by the path and/or the action) is in there. If yes: XY's fault, if no: Windows's fault or the app that should have notified Windows.
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Wear DIY masks! 😷

Jerry
Posts: 708
Joined: 05 May 2010 15:48
Location: DysTrumpia

Re: List doesn't auto-refresh

Post by Jerry » 12 Feb 2017 18:34

Here's an example of one typical situation that just occurred, and captured with the log. I download something from Chrome, which until completed has a temporary name. Then when completed, the temporary name is renamed to the final name. Except I never see the final rename in the list. So in the example below, the List still shows C69E.tmp and it stays that way indefinitely until I click directly on the temporary file in the list, and then I see the changed file name (or if I hit F5 refresh). I confirmed once again from the View menu that I do not have auto-refresh suspended and Auto-Fresh is enabled. See attached screenshot showing the still unnamed file in the List, while the renamed file appears from a listing in a Windows command prompt and the View menu shows that Auto-Refresh is enabled but not suspended. This is not the only scenario where refresh updates fail to happen, but it's a common case.

LOG:

Code: Select all

12:17:29.462 >> ShellNotify: SHCNE_DELETE: U:\Jerry\download\C69E.tmp | C69E.tmp >  | 
12:17:29.462 >> ShellNotify: SHCNE_CREATE: U:\Jerry\download\Unconfirmed 220911.crdownload | Unconfirmed 220911.crdownload >  | 
12:17:29.462 >> ShellNotify: SHCNE_DELETE: U:\Jerry\download\Unconfirmed 220911.crdownload | Unconfirmed 220911.crdownload >  | 
12:17:29.462 >> ShellNotify: SHCNE_CREATE: U:\Jerry\download\[rutracker.org].t5342045.torrent | [rutracker.org].t5342045.torrent >  | 
Clipboard-20170212.png
Clipboard-20170212.png (413.24 KiB) Viewed 1258 times
Running on Windows 10 Pro 64-bit quad-core ASUS G752-VY notebook with 64 GB RAM, 20 or more external USB3 drives attached via 4 powered hubs, totaling 50+ TB.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48978
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: List doesn't auto-refresh

Post by admin » 14 Feb 2017 11:34

The log clearly shows: no SHCNE_RENAMEITEM notification has been sent. No chance for XY.
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Wear DIY masks! 😷

Jerry
Posts: 708
Joined: 05 May 2010 15:48
Location: DysTrumpia

Re: List doesn't auto-refresh

Post by Jerry » 14 Feb 2017 15:11

admin wrote:The log clearly shows: no SHCNE_RENAMEITEM notification has been sent. No chance for XY.
But that event doesn't show up when I do the same kind of download at other times when the list IS automatically refreshed. For example:

Code: Select all

09:01:48.692 >> ShellNotify: SHCNE_DELETE: U:\Jerry\download\8248.tmp | 8248.tmp >  | 
09:01:48.696 >> ShellNotify: SHCNE_CREATE: U:\Jerry\download\Unconfirmed 192494.crdownload | Unconfirmed 192494.crdownload >  | 
09:01:48.696 >> ShellNotify: SHCNE_DELETE: U:\Jerry\download\Unconfirmed 192494.crdownload | Unconfirmed 192494.crdownload >  | 
09:01:48.696 >> ShellNotify: SHCNE_CREATE: U:\Jerry\download\[rutracker.org].t5357091.torrent | [rutracker.org].t5357091.torrent >  | 
09:04:05.147 >> ShellNotify: SHCNE_DELETE: U:\Jerry\download\988D.tmp | 988D.tmp >  | 
09:04:05.147 >> ShellNotify: SHCNE_CREATE: U:\Jerry\download\Unconfirmed 417234.crdownload | Unconfirmed 417234.crdownload >  | 
09:04:05.147 >> ShellNotify: SHCNE_DELETE: U:\Jerry\download\Unconfirmed 417234.crdownload | Unconfirmed 417234.crdownload >  | 
09:04:05.147 >> ShellNotify: SHCNE_CREATE: U:\Jerry\download\[rutracker.org].t5357174.torrent | [rutracker.org].t5357174.torrent >  | 
Running on Windows 10 Pro 64-bit quad-core ASUS G752-VY notebook with 64 GB RAM, 20 or more external USB3 drives attached via 4 powered hubs, totaling 50+ TB.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48978
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: List doesn't auto-refresh

Post by admin » 14 Feb 2017 15:14

Then by luck the last SHCNE_CREATE event came right before the rename.
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Wear DIY masks! 😷

Jerry
Posts: 708
Joined: 05 May 2010 15:48
Location: DysTrumpia

Re: List doesn't auto-refresh

Post by Jerry » 14 Feb 2017 16:02

admin wrote:Then by luck the last SHCNE_CREATE event came right before the rename.
I don't really quite understand that, and I suspect something else is going on here. But I'll continue running with the log levels enabled and hope to capture a situation that doesn't involve a "rename".
Running on Windows 10 Pro 64-bit quad-core ASUS G752-VY notebook with 64 GB RAM, 20 or more external USB3 drives attached via 4 powered hubs, totaling 50+ TB.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48978
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: List doesn't auto-refresh

Post by admin » 14 Feb 2017 18:40

Actually I'm trying something right now. The next version will show if I'm smart enough for this...
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Wear DIY masks! 😷

Jerry
Posts: 708
Joined: 05 May 2010 15:48
Location: DysTrumpia

Re: List doesn't auto-refresh

Post by Jerry » 14 Feb 2017 21:07

admin wrote:Actually I'm trying something right now. The next version will show if I'm smart enough for this...
Ok, I have v17.50.0214 installed and will let you know how it goes... Thanks.
Running on Windows 10 Pro 64-bit quad-core ASUS G752-VY notebook with 64 GB RAM, 20 or more external USB3 drives attached via 4 powered hubs, totaling 50+ TB.

antithesis
Posts: 2
Joined: 15 Feb 2017 00:21

Re: List doesn't auto-refresh

Post by antithesis » 15 Feb 2017 00:27

Same issue here....it does not auto-refresh.

Also, when you rename a file, it also does not auto-refresh and auto-sorts it. You have to manually press F5 to do it.

Also, experienced random freezes at times. They are brief but enough to throw you off.

At times, when you try to select the file, it does not do anything and it appears that file is not getting selected with single click. Even though it does not show, if you look the base in the status bar, the file is actually selected....thinking is some sort of bug.

highend
Posts: 9014
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Re: List doesn't auto-refresh

Post by highend » 15 Feb 2017 00:32

Also, when you rename a file, it also does not auto-refresh and auto-sorts it
Show two screenshots from these expanded menu entries:
Menu - View
Tools - Customize List

When you're in a folder where after renaming a file no auto-refresh happens...

And the XY version you're using is?
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal or paypal_donate (at) stdmail (dot) de

antithesis
Posts: 2
Joined: 15 Feb 2017 00:21

Re: List doesn't auto-refresh

Post by antithesis » 15 Feb 2017 01:03

I am not sure where you find Menu - View.

Here is the screenshot for Tools > Customize List:

Version is 17.50. Apparently it is working in 16.10 but broke in 17.50.
Attachments
Clipboard-20170214.png
Clipboard-20170214.png (33.32 KiB) Viewed 1166 times

Post Reply