Active tab is used when a folder is opened from outside XY

Things you’d like to miss in the future...
Post Reply
nerdweed
Posts: 593
Joined: 25 Feb 2012 07:47

Active tab is used when a folder is opened from outside XY

Post by nerdweed »

If a folder is opened from outside XY (Default file manager)

1. If the location is already open - it switches to that tab - correct
2. If the active tab is locked and there is a default tab - it opens in default tab - correct
3. If the active tab is locked and there is no default tab - it opens in the next unlocked tab - incorrect - Shouldn't it open in a new tab
4. If the active tab is unlocked and there is no default tab - it opens in this tab - Shouldn't it open in a new tab?

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50621
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: Active tab is used when a folder is opened from outside

Post by admin »

Not sure if that is a bug. The behavior is like this for many years, so it's kind of "time proven". And you can control it: Simply add a default tab (which everybody should do anyway!), and all is fine as you like it.
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

SammaySarkar
Posts: 4235
Joined: 12 Mar 2014 17:27
Location: Asteroid B-612 / Dhaka
Contact:

Re: Active tab is used when a folder is opened from outside

Post by SammaySarkar »

see if enabling this is any help: Tools > Configuration > Startup & Exit > Open command line start path in new tab
Icon Names | Onyx | Undocumented Commands | xypcre
[ this user is asleep ]

nerdweed
Posts: 593
Joined: 25 Feb 2012 07:47

Re: Active tab is used when a folder is opened from outside

Post by nerdweed »

I had been waiting a month for replies but never saw these replies.

It works good with Default tabs. For 3 and 4, I have started passing the parameters through XY Remote Control and now it works as I would like it to.

Post Reply