Large JPG fullscreen crash

Things you’d like to miss in the future...
Chris Wood
Posts: 272
Joined: 25 May 2004 13:01
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Contact:

Large JPG fullscreen crash

Post by Chris Wood »

I have this 1.5MB image on my HD. When I click Full Screen in the Preview tab, I get a black screen. Then I click to escape that. Then a click anywhere in XYplorer will cause a crash.
test everything. hold on to the good.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50428
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: Large JPG fullscreen crash

Post by admin »

No crash here. Just tried it. :?

Chris Wood
Posts: 272
Joined: 25 May 2004 13:01
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Contact:

Post by Chris Wood »

You have "Black background" enabled in Preview config?
test everything. hold on to the good.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50428
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Post by admin »

Chris Wood wrote:You have "Black background" enabled in Preview config?
Yep

Chris Wood
Posts: 272
Joined: 25 May 2004 13:01
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Contact:

Post by Chris Wood »

Weird, hopefully someone else can reproduce this.
test everything. hold on to the good.

CyGho
Posts: 134
Joined: 29 Oct 2005 21:31
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by CyGho »

I did try it with your file Chris, but it works ok here also.
Software: should we be aware because it's soft ? I like to think not !

j_c_hallgren
XY Blog Master
Posts: 5824
Joined: 02 Jan 2006 19:34
Location: So. Chatham MA/Clearwater FL
Contact:

Post by j_c_hallgren »

I pulled down that JPG...did a Full Preview...got the black background...(then Alt+Tab'd back to this forum cause I forgot next step! :roll: )
When I then A+T'd back to XY, I got the "Prgm has caused errors" abort..

Would sending complete dump info help?
My mini extract is: Access Violation - in function oleaut32 Ordinal336

Update: Tried it again with slightly diff results...after getting the black background, I used ESC...it went back to normal screen, but then aborted.
Same error "Access Violation" but diff function: MSVBVM50!_vbaStrVarMove
Last edited by j_c_hallgren on 02 Jan 2007 17:27, edited 1 time in total.
Still spending WAY TOO much time here! But it's such a pleasure helping XY be a treasure!
(XP on laptop with touchpad and thus NO mouse!) Using latest beta vers when possible.

CyGho
Posts: 134
Joined: 29 Oct 2005 21:31
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by CyGho »

off topic :oops:
@j_c
Did you know the following tric?:
When you have a error dialogwindow, hit ctrl-c. The error message will be copied to the clipboard, so you can past it anywhere :)
Software: should we be aware because it's soft ? I like to think not !

j_c_hallgren
XY Blog Master
Posts: 5824
Joined: 02 Jan 2006 19:34
Location: So. Chatham MA/Clearwater FL
Contact:

Post by j_c_hallgren »

Something REALLY weird going on here! Tried it yet again...after sucessfully ESC from black full screen, it did not abort...so went to another file (ZIP), and did a Raw View...fine..then back to the JPG...when I tried Full Screen on it, I get a blow up/full screen of Raw View, even though I'm on Preview tab and image shows fine in IP as mini pix..and I can MDBU it fine, but "Full Screen" seems locked into hex dump from Raw View...

UPD: Tried then to select another folder in Tree...it then aborted!
Still spending WAY TOO much time here! But it's such a pleasure helping XY be a treasure!
(XP on laptop with touchpad and thus NO mouse!) Using latest beta vers when possible.

Chris Wood
Posts: 272
Joined: 25 May 2004 13:01
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Contact:

Post by Chris Wood »

CyGho wrote:off topic :oops:
@j_c
Did you know the following tric?:
When you have a error dialogwindow, hit ctrl-c. The error message will be copied to the clipboard, so you can past it anywhere :)
Not off topic, thanks CyGho I forgot that, which is easy to do with so many features... hmm, XYplorer needs a "Tip of the Day"...

And thanks also jc for helping with this bug.
test everything. hold on to the good.

Chris Wood
Posts: 272
Joined: 25 May 2004 13:01
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Contact:

Post by Chris Wood »

CyGho wrote:off topic :oops:
@j_c
Did you know the following tric?:
When you have a error dialogwindow, hit ctrl-c. The error message will be copied to the clipboard, so you can past it anywhere :)
Not off topic, thanks CyGho I forgot that, which is easy to do with so many features... hmm, XYplorer needs a "Tip of the Day"...

And thanks also jc for helping with this bug.
test everything. hold on to the good.

j_c_hallgren
XY Blog Master
Posts: 5824
Joined: 02 Jan 2006 19:34
Location: So. Chatham MA/Clearwater FL
Contact:

Post by j_c_hallgren »

Chris Wood wrote:
CyGho wrote:When you have a error dialogwindow, hit ctrl-c.
hmm, XYplorer needs a "Tip of the Day"...And thanks also jc for helping with this bug.
CyGho : On this particular error msg, it's a fatal error from Windows and won't (at least for me) let it be copied that way...and when it does abort, look for a DrWatson dump and log file...that's where the details are found...

Chris : I'll try to help where I can to track down odd bugs like this! :wink:
And you're welcome!!
Still spending WAY TOO much time here! But it's such a pleasure helping XY be a treasure!
(XP on laptop with touchpad and thus NO mouse!) Using latest beta vers when possible.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50428
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Post by admin »

I could not reproduce it, but might have fixed it anyway. 8) Check next BETA...

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50428
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: Large JPG fullscreen crash

Post by admin »

Chris Wood wrote:I have this 1.5MB image on my HD. When I click Full Screen in the Preview tab, I get a black screen. Then I click to escape that. Then a click anywhere in XYplorer will cause a crash.
Is it fixed now?

j_c_hallgren
XY Blog Master
Posts: 5824
Joined: 02 Jan 2006 19:34
Location: So. Chatham MA/Clearwater FL
Contact:

Post by j_c_hallgren »

I've got that JPG up in Full Screen Preview right now! :) Works just fine! As far as I can see, bug squashed!
Still spending WAY TOO much time here! But it's such a pleasure helping XY be a treasure!
(XP on laptop with touchpad and thus NO mouse!) Using latest beta vers when possible.

Post Reply