New beta crashes on start

Things you’d like to miss in the future...
TheQwerty
Posts: 4353
Joined: 03 Aug 2007 22:30

Re: New beta crashes on start

Post by TheQwerty »

115 does the same as 114.
Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: XYplorer.exe
Application Version: 13.70.0.115
Application Timestamp: 52f26bec
Fault Module Name: StackHash_0273
Fault Module Version: 6.1.7601.18247
Fault Module Timestamp: 521ea8e7
Exception Code: c0000374
Exception Offset: 000ce753
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.48
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 0273
Additional Information 2: 02735b0650ef24e696f3df7df2ecce4e
Additional Information 3: 036d
Additional Information 4: 036da8d1d3ad26a23ccaf26ed8bcf077

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50596
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: New beta crashes on start

Post by admin »

TheQwerty wrote:
admin wrote:But XYcopy.exe is not running on startup, weird. :?

Anyway, this is good news. I will recompile XYcopy.exe on Win 8.1 and upload again...
I don't think it has to do with it running so much as with you verifying it exists and is the correct version - which I assume you do when starting.
Yep, this is the only 2 things I do.

Note that the previous XYcopy.exe had been compiled still on my old XY system (in December 2013) and worked well on all Windows versions.
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50596
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: New beta crashes on start

Post by admin »

Did you already try to reboot WIndows? (the mother of all bug fixes...)
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

TheQwerty
Posts: 4353
Joined: 03 Aug 2007 22:30

Re: New beta crashes on start

Post by TheQwerty »

admin wrote:Did you already try to reboot WIndows? (the mother of all bug fixes...)
My last various information had an OS Uptime of "77 days, 18 hrs, 59 mins, 24 secs", so I suppose the answer is not this year. ;)

Just to eliminate that I have now rebooted but 115 still crashes and now my uptime is a measly "11 mins, 56 secs". :cry: :P

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50596
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: New beta crashes on start

Post by admin »

Oh sorry. Can't you undo the reboot? :wink:
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50596
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: New beta crashes on start

Post by admin »

Conc. APPCRASH

Well, does anybody see a pattern? It seems to be only Win7/64, right?

And it does not happen when XYcopy.exe is missing? Can everybody confirm this?

What happens if you run XYcopy.exe directly?
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

kunkel321
Posts: 614
Joined: 10 Jun 2012 03:45
Location: Near Seattle

Re: New beta crashes on start

Post by kunkel321 »

.0115 still crashing at startup on Win 7....
ste(phen|ve) kunkel

TheQwerty
Posts: 4353
Joined: 03 Aug 2007 22:30

Re: New beta crashes on start

Post by TheQwerty »

admin wrote:What happens if you run XYcopy.exe directly?
I get a dialog:
XYplorer wrote:XYcopy 2.10.0048 cannot be run standalone.

ale
Posts: 127
Joined: 19 Feb 2009 23:23
Location: Italy

Re: New beta crashes on start

Post by ale »

admin wrote: And it does not happen when XYcopy.exe is missing? Can everybody confirm this?
Confirmed, if I rename XYcopy.exe to _XYcopy.exe it doesn't crash.

I have Windows 7 64 bit too, on XYplorer startup I see the busy cursor for maybe 10 seconds and then the message XYplorer stopped working (beta 0115).

TheQwerty
Posts: 4353
Joined: 03 Aug 2007 22:30

Re: New beta crashes on start

Post by TheQwerty »

If I rename XYcopy and start XYplorer, it works properly.
If I then restore XYcopy to XYcopy.exe and attempt to open the configuration XY crashes. EDIT: This is all while XY is running.
If I then repeat these steps but attempt to open the configuration in a different manner the crash data changes.

This is probably just because the stack is different at the time of each crash and thus won't be useful, but just in case..
Same for all case:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: XYplorer.exe
Application Version: 13.70.0.115
Application Timestamp: 52f26bec
Fault Module Version: 6.1.7601.18247
Fault Module Timestamp: 521ea8e7
Exception Code: c0000374
Exception Offset: 000ce753
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.48
Locale ID: 1033

That which differs...
At start....
Fault Module Name: StackHash_0273
Additional Information 1: 0273
Additional Information 2: 02735b0650ef24e696f3df7df2ecce4e
Additional Information 3: 036d
Additional Information 4: 036da8d1d3ad26a23ccaf26ed8bcf077

Tools > Configuration
Fault Module Name: StackHash_cb8a
Additional Information 1: cb8a
Additional Information 2: cb8ac0c83686a93939e099a32731c784
Additional Information 3: 8758
Additional Information 4: 8758285ee79864944102149c11938f91

F9
Fault Module Name: StackHash_f20c
Additional Information 1: f20c
Additional Information 2: f20c5565ae93874277ee4d171312742d
Additional Information 3: 8452
Additional Information 4: 8452da7ecea9aaa38c32bf5833f89b95

#600;
Fault Module Name: StackHash_f0e6
Additional Information 1: f0e6
Additional Information 2: f0e64cfc1d5f294cf6ac31f08ac5755f
Additional Information 3: e0b2
Additional Information 4: e0b2765b96eb7b7f895f33b44bc1238d

Toolbar Button...
Fault Module Name: StackHash_d81e
Additional Information 1: d81e
Additional Information 2: d81e087a19383f83d5d5c2ec31c902e9
Additional Information 3: 6517
Additional Information 4: 65174684acb480e6dd4c769a9c2b2e4d

Status Bar Icon > Configure
Fault Module Name: StackHash_d81e
Additional Information 1: d81e
Additional Information 2: d81e087a19383f83d5d5c2ec31c902e9
Additional Information 3: c14c
Additional Information 4: c14cd0ba27432142cb2b808ef002e4bc

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50596
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: New beta crashes on start

Post by admin »

TheQwerty wrote:
admin wrote:What happens if you run XYcopy.exe directly?
I get a dialog:
XYplorer wrote:XYcopy 2.10.0048 cannot be run standalone.
This is the correct thing to happen. So XYcopy.exe itself seems okay.

Opening the configuration does NOT check XYcopy existence or version. So why does it crash then? :veryconfused:

What a strange bug!!! :om: The solution seems near but I don't see it.
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

TheQwerty
Posts: 4353
Joined: 03 Aug 2007 22:30

Re: New beta crashes on start

Post by TheQwerty »

admin wrote:
TheQwerty wrote:
admin wrote:What happens if you run XYcopy.exe directly?
I get a dialog:
XYplorer wrote:XYcopy 2.10.0048 cannot be run standalone.
This is the correct thing to happen. So XYcopy.exe itself seems okay.

Opening the configuration does NOT check XYcopy existence or version. So why does it crash then? :veryconfused:

What a strange bug!!! :om: The solution seems near but I don't see it.
It does display XYcopy's version in the config but hmph.

EDIT: I should clarify, normally it shows the version. In the case that it's not found it correctly shows a not found message. When added back it crashes so I don't know what it does. ;)

EDIT 2: And it only occurs the first time you open the configuration. If you open the configuration and then restore xycopy it doesn't crash but continues to believe xycopy isn't found.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50596
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: New beta crashes on start

Post by admin »

Yes, the XYcopy version is retrieved only one time. So, it is this operation that kills it. We are coming nearer...
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

TheQwerty
Posts: 4353
Joined: 03 Aug 2007 22:30

Re: New beta crashes on start

Post by TheQwerty »

Would it be possible/worthwhile for you to revert to 103 and build with 8.1 so we can eliminate any changes since being part of the problem?

Pagat
Posts: 306
Joined: 09 Oct 2007 21:23
Location: Austria

Re: New beta crashes on start

Post by Pagat »

admin wrote:Well, does anybody see a pattern? It seems to be only Win7/64, right?
It happens to me on Win7/32 too. (XY crashs with XYcopy available and works with XYcopy renamed/moved).

Post Reply