"Location currently not available" on mapped network drive

Things you’d like to miss in the future...
xmatx

"Location currently not available" on mapped network drive

Post by xmatx »

Hello,

I'm new to xyplorer (great program!) and cannot browse my mapped network drive (which runs Samba on FreeNAS, with no authentication).

xyplorer says "Location not available" but Windows Explorer and every other Explorer replacement i have tried can read the contents fine.

I even coded a simple loop using the Windows API commands FindFirstFile and FindNextFile and there are no difficulties. For instance, the code at http://stackoverflow.com/a/2315808 works fine.

Does anyone know why xyplorer (13.60) cannot browse this mapped drive? FYI, I tried the network server caching option which did not help.

Thanks,
Mat

admin
Site Admin

Re: "Location currently not available" on mapped network dri

Post by admin »

Hm, if FindFirstFile works then it should work in XY. It might be the Samba server. Does it help if you tick this?
Configuration | Controls and More | Miscellaneous | Assume that servers are available

xmatx

Post by xmatx »

It did not work immediately but i quit xyplorer and started it again and that option appears to have fixed it, i'm now browsing my network drive!

Thank you very much for the help!

j_c_hallgren
XY Blog Master

Post by j_c_hallgren »

xmatx wrote:Thank you very much for the help!
Hi and welcome to the XY forums!

Hope that you noticed just how quickly you recieved a reply here, and it was from Don as well...that's one thing we pride ourselves on here is prompt responses..now it won't always be that quick or by the author but it's not unusual either.

BTW, there have been other prior threads about similar issues so hope that you'd searched/looked at some of those before you posted...
Still spending WAY TOO much time here! But it's such a pleasure helping XY be a treasure!