Translation issues

Where developers, translators, and users meet...
krzysiu

Translation issues

Post by krzysiu »

Hello! I'm not a professional translator, but that's what I do when I have some free time. Translations I fixed or made includes FileZilla, Notepad++, Piwigo, OpenWith Firefox plugin and many others. I'm Polish speaker and I consider my language level as more that usual, rather professional level. Polish language level, because English - well, you see by yourself :) That's why I only translate from EN to PL. I prefer to fix translations than to make a new ones. And that's what XYPlorer needs. E.g. for "space" as space taken by file which is translated to Polish "space bar" or "press" which is translated to archaic word which have roots in the word "strangle" ;) There are many straight grammar errors (but overall I usually work with much worse translations).

Please, if you'd want my help, could you answer following questions?
  • I think that current translator still maintains it. So... what to do if I want to fix it? I don't know who would be able to allow me to fix translation. You or translator? I want to avoid conflicts - both version conflicts, like in Git and conflicts with current translator (I don't want to do anything against him, yet this translation is simply wrong)
  • I don't have up-to-date full XYPlorer. I have free version and version from some giveaway offer - "fixed license pro". I'm jobless right now and sadly I can't afford XYPlorer. XYP is very important to me, I have it very customized, scripted etc. If I could fix it, I would have to install new version (trial? That's because my pro version can't be updated) and I'm afraid it could mess something with my current license. If it would, can I count on you to get it back?