Screenshots

What other productivity software are you working with...
lian00
Posts: 354
Joined: 09 Jul 2014 17:12

Re: Screenshots

Post by lian00 »

Well, not the most complete but I like it for my use. Very clean overlay options: http://www.screenpresso.com/fr/
Windows 10 64 bits

Regmos
Posts: 268
Joined: 22 Dec 2012 07:27
Location: Copenhagen

Re: Screenshots

Post by Regmos »

Kind regards
Regmos

Acecool
Posts: 43
Joined: 25 May 2016 11:13

Re: Screenshots

Post by Acecool »

I use AHK with a simple script and a few libraries... My auto-setup for AHK to work on dropbox is almost ready to be released for anyone to consume which sets it up so you can use Dropbox ( or a custom cloud-data directory ) and set a custom directory within which contains your ahk scripts, and another dir can be nested or not which is for the libraries ( which needs to be symlinked because the official AHK setup doesn't create library directories, and for your scripts to work everywhere you need access to them and there's no better way than to have them in your cloud-data folder )... After setup you just run AutoHotkey.exe ( script replaced the default, if it was added, AutoHotkey.ahk script in your Documents folder [ multi-lingual support exists because I read the dir from the active user registry ].. IF the AutoHotkey.ahk script already exists [ same in the case of the Library folder ] it'll rename it to Backup AutoHotkey/Lib <date><.ext>? )

I also use it for a lot of character replacements ( such as German umlauts, math symbols, super / sub text replacement and currency format toggle [ between 1,000.00 to 1.000,00 ] and a few others ) and a bunch of other scripts; the most useful are audio-source switcher ( headset and speakers ), capslock mod ( double-tap it to activate it, if active then shift tap or capslock tap to disengage ), the umlauts and special chars, alt + h to toggle view hidden files and folders ( very useful when you don't want desktop.ini and thumbs.db in your way but when you do want to view other hidden files; default on ), and the screen capture... I am testing a few others which may make the cut to be included in my primary loader such as a workspace ( window management script ) but it doesn't seem to capture all windows properly...

But, for the sake of this thread, here's a link to the libraries, and here's the script for screenshot only... I use ALT+F12 to capture the active window ( I've never really needed the entire desktop; mostly it's just the active window.. for cases of full desktop there is an alternate bind with print-screen if I recall correctly )...

Required libs:
GDI+ https://github.com/tariqporter/Gdip with just https://raw.githubusercontent.com/tariq ... r/Gdip.ahk or just http://www.autohotkey.net/~tic/Gdip.ahk
sTooltip https://autohotkey.com/board/topic/3154 ... h-timeout/


If you Remove TrayTip line and below to only use GDI+... then you don't need this... otherwise this needs to be above the other lines...

Code: Select all

;
; Helper function to remove the tray-tip ( for SetTimer use )...
;	
RemoveTrayTip( )
{
	SetTimer, RemoveTrayTip, Off
	TrayTip	; without parameters, removes displayed traytip
}

The actual screenshot code.. The nice thing about GDI+ is that it is simple to use, and it captures everything as it is seen, essentially, ie youtube video screens aren't black, neither are video games, which is sometimes present in a basic PrintScreen button press...

Code: Select all

;;
;; [Alt]+[F12] Screencapture of current window...
;;
!F12::
	_path := "%A_AppData%\..\..\Dropbox\Screenshots\"
	screen := "0|0|" . A_ScreenWidth . "|" . A_ScreenHeight ; X|Y|W|H
	name := Screenshot( _path, screen )
	TrayTip, Screenshot Added, %name%`nwas saved to your Dropbox Screenshots Folder!, 3, 17
	SetTimer, RemoveTrayTip, 2000

	return
Edit: IT seems that the tray-tip may have an issue by being part of the same script which prevents a lot of screenshots taken in a short time... I'm going to move that call to a separately called script / thread ( if possible; haven't done much with AHK ) to limit that effect... Removing TrayTip and below should also help... Or even just setting up the hotkey to run an external script could help by allowing multiple processes to occur....

Post Reply