Window Controller (?) alternatives?

What other productivity software are you working with...
bdeshi

Window Controller (?) alternatives?

Post by bdeshi »

DM2 (Dialog Mate 2) can make windows topmost, roll up, resize, transparent and many others. More usefully, all these features can be used by modifier+clicking on window titlebar buttons (max-min-close). And the app almost has no memory usage.
(ed: oh, and it has some pretty interesting plugins: cdControl,volumeControl,winEnabler...)
The problem is, DM2 is an ancient software, and many modern programs take issue with it. (I know Firefox does.)

So any suggestions on the best replacement for DM2?
Icon Names | Onyx | Undocumented Commands | xypcre
[ this user is asleep ]

binocular222

Re: Window Controller (?) alternatives?

Post by binocular222 »

Actual window manager
I purchased a license, but no longer use it. AHK can do most of that thing easily.
I'm a casual coder using AHK language. All of my xys scripts:
http://www.xyplorer.com/xyfc/viewtopic. ... 243#p82488

TheQwerty

Post by TheQwerty »

I'm a big fan of WindowSpace.

It bills itself more as a way to move, re-size, and snap windows, but it also includes the always on top, roll-up, tray, and transparency features you mentioned.

I forget which features are only available if you purchase but at $25 for a lifetime license it's not too expensive.

Also, in case you were not familiar - whenever I'm looking for alternatives I start out at AlternativeTo. I don't place much value on their reviews or rankings but it's generally a decent place to quickly see the names of similar products.

bdeshi

Post by bdeshi »

ActualWindowManager: tried it, couldn't rationalize it's memory usage. I know AHK is a great candidate, but I keep thinking it wouldn't be light on resources either.