Home Buy Now Download XYplorer now! Buy a License now! Go XY now!
Testimonials

Testimonials

A selection of user testimonials.


Iíve been using XYplorer for years with a significant increase in my daily activities. XYplorer has a friendly open forum where suggestions, enhancements, bugs, and help is all available in one of the quickest response environments around. The developer is one of the best in the industry in the quality of the product delivered. XYplorer is easy to learn with a rich environment that even advanced users will appreciate. I highly recommend anyone who is interested in improving their productivity by utilizing XYplorer.

Lars Bergman (USA) / January 2014

Thank you so very much for developing such a terrific application and for LISTENING to your customers. Just when I think XYplorer couldn't possibly get any better, it does. It just proves that when a developer collaborates with customers, an amazingly useful, creative, flexible, and successful product can result.

My colleagues and customers constantly ask me what product I am using to navigate my file system. They immediately become fans as well.

Rob Alfieri (Senior Enterprise Architect, IBM) / November 2013

Before XYplorer, I would never have thought it possible to keep track of hundreds of gigabytes of files. XYplorer is so fully integrated into the way I do things that such an extensive scope of file management is not only possible, but enjoyable.

Peter Miller (Kamakura, Japan) / November 2013

It's only taken me a couple of hours of evaluating XYplorer to resign Windows Explorer to the great Recycle Bin in the sky. Thus far, I can't find anything I'd ever want a file manager to do that XY can't do... and I've already discovered a number of things that I never realised I needed! With such great support too (sorting out my CODEC issue), I had no hesitation in getting the Pro version straight away. After working in the IT industry for 41 years, I don't do that very often.

Geoff Baylis (UK) / September 2013

I haven't checked updates for a while, and when I installed the new Version 12.70 earlier today, I was amazed at all the improvements. The program was already superb, and now you've made it even better! I would have thought that was nearly impossible. Numerous operations, particularly with photos, are easier and at the same time more flexible and have more options. And the options -- such as those for viewing, reporting, finding, and so forth -- are useful.

XYplorer still adheres to a minimalist design philosophy, which I like, while expanding still further the range of useful choices available -- a truly amazing feat.

With this design and with the guidance, instructions, and commentary, you have also succeeded in making file management fun. I'm not a data junkie, but I really enjoy this program -- its appeal transcends merely practical usage.

Peter Miller (Kamakura, Japan) / August 2013

I am a hobbyist electronic designer. I needed a database to allow me to search through thousands of articles, schematic fragments, PCB layouts, and parts datasheets quickly and easily, while leaving all of my files in their native formats. I've been burned by programs that store files within a vault that needs it's own proprietary program to access, so I wanted a program that could tag files but leave them in my file structure on my drive: both the hard drive, and the thumb drive.

After a year of searching, I encountered XYplorer. It did everything I needed and the scripting helped me automate some repetitive tasks in ways I never thought of before. Sharing tags and settings between multiple drives (containing the same volume of files) is as easy as copying two files between them.

Since I purchased it, I've been evaluating other databases that are made for my application. Even though they are designed to do exactly what I need, nothing operates as easily and intuitively as XYPlorer. I'm constantly amazed at how much simpler XY is to operate than any databases designed to store disparate information.

Since discovering it, I have expanded my usage to include cataloging my family's pictures, my software library, my music, and many pieces I have written through the years. This program is as much a very flexible database as it is a file manager!

This is one of the best software investments I've ever made.

Bill / April 2013

I installed XYplorer one day after I accidentally shift-deleted an entire folder instead of the file I meant to, then while trying to fix it I accidentally dragged and dropped something else and couldn't even figure out what it was. Now thanks to the keyboard shortcuts (I removed everything with "delete" in it), the undo/redo list, and the safety belt for drag/drop, I don't have these problems any more.

Jason Wells (USA) / November 2012

I have been using this application for at least a decade and have never found anything that even comes close to the amazing utility this provides.

The price of this program is only a small fraction of what it will save in time and effort. Anyone who needs to manage files in a computer also needs XYplorer. Nothing else even comes close.

I say this because every time I need to do something that the bundled file explorers won't do I usually find XYplorer will handle it with ease. I keep many thousands of photo, video and CAD files that need to be archived, so I recently purchased a dedicated incremental backup program to manage them, not realizing that XYplorer will do the job easily. The backup program did not work as well and was a waste of money.

I work in a university and constantly recommend XYplorer to all my colleagues. I tell them they will never be sorry.

Joe Lippencott (USA) / August 2012

I deal with plenty of file categorization, tagging and searching in the context of a thesis development. XYplorer has provided great support on handling files in a friendly interface with advanced file management, including the possibility of dealing with several work environments simultaneously. Handy indeed!

C. Silva (Brazil) / April 2012

I've been developing computer software for over three decades. Rarely, do I encounter a product implemented which is a result of true agile development. It's usually all talk and little action. The rapid life cycles provide stakeholders (you) with valuable new features, enhancements and defect resolution quickly. Your time is finite. Quality is ultimately everything. Being effective and efficient in the management of your files is more complex than ever. More important today for your concerns than ever before, is, fast, effective communications with the developer and the community. I highly recommend XYplorer as the Ultimate File Manager for the Windows environment.

Lars Bergman (USA) / November 2011

I used PowerDesk for about 12 to 15 years. I'm almost glad they went to hell, I was so used to the program that I never looked around. If it weren't for Advanquest, I never would have found my way here, and XYplorer is so much better. I don't think I would run PowerDesk again if Avanquest gave me a free copy of the mythical Version 9 to make up for all the hassles they caused me.

Trasd / November 2011

The overall design of XYplorer is very simple and user friendly, fully customisable to your own specific needs, common tasks are done with ease, finding and viewing files easy, renaming, complete control and most important, the ability to undo an operation. I liked the tabbed viewing and dual panes and the ability to colour code. Look forward to using the product on a daily basis for my every day tasks. Plenty of options to satisfy most users. Plenty to explore and discover as you use and become more familiar with the product. Definitely recommend XYplorer for those who wish to take file management to the next level.

Kaylene Horne (MVP, Australia) / September 2011

What I like in XYplorer? I think I love the overall model of handling files in tabs with functional quadrants on each tab, while retaining orthodox two-panel linear approach as an option. This model is not unique, but XYplorer has probably got the best implementation of it. Besides this, the overall interface design is overwhelmingly informative, yet simple and user friendly. I was able to access at once every file or folder property I would imagine. With XYplorer I honestly felt myself in total command and control of all my files. Looking into particular features, the catalogs/drop zone, sync scroll, directory color tagging and preview implementation (with easy-touch zoom!) are definitely price worthy. I did not come to the point where I would need scripting, notwithstanding this, I believe it might give unlimited flexibility, especially in repetitive tasks. Finally, XYplorer is a lightning fast instrument in every conceivable way.

Valerii Volobuiev (MVP, Ukraine) / September 2011

I have been using XYplorer for a couple of years now. Iím not a Ďresellerí and receive no commission or other benefit from supplying my opinion which is completely honest and accurate.

Hereís the bottom line . . . Iíve used many, many file managers over the years and XYplorer is by far the best of them. Iíve paid much more money for applications such as Directory Opus but it canít do half the stuff that XYplorer can.

Want to select a thousand files in the current folder based on a RegEx pattern you can save and use again and again? Want to move those files to a series of sub folders? Want to create a hundred folders and sub folders based on patterns you can save and use again and again? Want to search an entire drive with a simple to use but incredibly advanced pattern matching interface in less time than you ever believed possible? Want to create a set of your very own user buttons that with one click (yes, just one click!) do EXACTLY what you want to do with any number of selected files? Want instant and highly user friendly access to all your favourite software applications, folders and drive locations?

It is just impossible to say in less than a hundred thousand words what this software can do, and Don the developer is improving things and interacting with users constantly. Iíve never experienced a developer so Ďin touchí with what his customers need. When I first purchased XY I made a suggestion via the forum . . . Don implemented it the very same day and made the new beta version available for download on the XYplorer web site.

Iím writing this because Iíve just started work this morning and I have a couple of hundred files to sort out and Ďtagí with comments etc etc. It suddenly struck me how this used to take me hours and hours on an almost daily basis before I had XY, now I canít imagine life on a PC without it. For personal use or business or across multiple servers thereís just none better.

Biggy / June 2011

As someone who works with computers 8 to 10 hours a day, I am always looking for software and routines that can help me save time and, ultimately, make my life easier. XYplorer is, without question, one of them. Since Internet browsers have tabs, why shouldn't explorer windows have tabs as well? It is so much better than having 10 windows opened at the same time: it gets confusing pretty fast. Also, I think the catalog is a great feature that allows quick access to frequently used resources. Finally, as a podcast aficionado, I absolutely LOVE the feature that lets me rename mp3 files based on their ID3-tags: I love my collection so neatly organized. In a nutshell, just try XYplorer and you'll never look back!

Vittorio Bosio (Italy) / June 2011

It's fast, light weight, and adds tons of functionality to your File Manager. It took me less than 30 minutes to move from the trial version to a lifetime license.

The ability to add scripts to your file manager is absolutely brilliant! It adds one-mouseclick functionality and saves me tons of time.

I review a lot of files (docs) in 100's of corresponding directories. Now I can mark the files with colors (tags) for 'In-Progess', 'Done', 'Interesting'. And the directories as 'Done' or 'In Progress' or 'Interesting files within'. For that I use little scripts that choose a different icon out of shell32.dll (folder-with-checkmark, search-icon and star resp.). Previously I couldn't do any file-tagging other than moving files to subdirectories. But that screws up your backups. I did directory tagging before (rightclick/properties/tab-customize-buttonChangeIcon/browse to the new icon...). Now it's one mouse-click.

Bob (The Netherlands) / July 2010

XYplorer is the most essential software I use since it provides me the ability to build a kind of sub-operationg system answering my needs. Here are a few unique highlights:

- FILE ASSOCIATION CUSTOMIZING: this is priceless under Vista or Win7, especially with portable apps... (the last Windows editions put sticks in your wheels with unregisted softwares... and I use almost only portable apps).

- CATALOG: very useful to keep at hands a mix of folders, files and applis dispatched on different drives or directory, but related to one particular hobby or job.

- FIND FILES : works very fast, and even search within the IPTC tags in pictures!

- MANUAL SORTING OF THUMBNAILS: extremely useful to sort pictures in a special order before renaming them, especially when the filenames are ill-assorted. This is the "banc de montage" (ie sorting table) I've been looking for a long time.

To conclude, I got a priceless toolbox for a small price: thanks a lot for this good work, and best wishes for your following developments!

Philippe Hamel (France) / February 2010

I highly recommend this software if you like to have control over your work, and appreciate the time savings a real coder can provide. This software is a work of art. I have yet to meet the end of what I can customize and set up for my individual situation. For $15 I will get back $600 in time savings over the next 6 months. Most of all, my frustrations with the elementary software provided with Windows 7 is gone. I am free, free at last. Just an amazing piece of software.

Dave Haley / December 2009

I was using power desk (ontrack version) for about ten years, but several years ago they stopped development of the program. I needed a new file manager and came across xyplorer. It is similar to power desk so it was easy to switch to, but it has several extra features that make it a more evolved program than power desk.

Martin Willoughby / September 2009

I was a Win Explorer user for a long time, since Win95 actually. Explorer was never great, but good enough most of the time. Unfortunately MS has a tendency to introduce new, extremely shiny and extremely annoying features to Explorer. WinXP Explorer can be made usable by some config tricks. But then came Vista and things changed Ö Vistaís Explorer is a madhouse! Iím absolutely appalled by its automation/pseudo-intelligence (read stupidity) hell and the hoops you have to jump through to disable even some of it. ĽNo! I do not want to view this folder in special MP3 mode. Thereís not a single bloody audio file in sight anywhere!ę

So I went to look for an alternative Ö and almost despaired. Dual pane everywhere, and never an option to turn it off! Problem is, I just donít work that way. Tabs are great and imo a lot more efficent than dual panes. And if I happen to need a second pane once or twice a month Iíll just open a second window.

Well, to make a long story short. Forced dual pane ruled out most programmes and I ended up testing XYplorer and Directory Opus. Both are good, but XYplorer has this feature that outshines them all: mini tree! How could I live without it? How could I ever stand using a tree view with all that clutter of open but not needed folders? Itís been a nightmare for years and I never even realised it!

Mini tree is also a great example of the overall XYplorer feeling. The whole programme seems to be made up of a thousand ridiculously simple ideas with a powerful impact, and it always leaves the user in control. Iíve finally redirected Windows+E to open XYplorer, I think that says it all. Keep up the good work!

B. SchŲler (Germany) / Jun 2009

I was pleased to discover that several more recent file managers can report directory sizes and collapse the view, but XYplorer has been the only one that does those things and works in my somewhat unusual environment. I run multiple virtual Windows sessions under a Linux host (using VirtualBox, though I'm experimenting with VMware) and access shared folders as virtual network shares. As I progress with this arrangement I'm sure I'll find a few problems -- for example, VirtualBox sometimes takes about 15 seconds to complete a simple file write to a shared drive, apparently because it refreshes the virtual network -- but so far XYplorer seems to handle the virtualization best of all the file managers I've tried.

Many thanks for your work on this very useful file manager!

Michael Flory / Apr 2009

I work in a very large web shop with hundreds of past and present clients and numerous dev servers in house. The multi-tab interface with the easy ability to move or copy between tabs using context menus, tab history, outstanding search features and high level of customization makes most of my every day tasks so much easier. This software is an absolutely fantastic tool that I honestly don't know how I ever survived without it! Worth every penny and more, thanks for this wonderful tool!

S. Sligh (USA) / Jan 2009

I had to "adapt" my workflow a little, but all for the better. Now I'm 100% of the time using MiniTree (most of the time it's Locked as well), and I love it.

And I've also been doing lots of scripting. It's awesome how much can be done, I've automated a bunch of tasks, like recently one I used to do manually that took me about half an hour, and since I didn't do it everyday as I should but once or twice a week only it was even worse, now XY has a little script that does the work for me, it's about 2 to 5 seconds a day! :)

Seriously, it's great. I've also added myself some "cron" jobs run automatically without me having to think about it, works fine, damn cool! All that just to say, thank you for creating such an amazing piece of art, software, whatever the name -- I'm loving it every day. :)

Olivier Brunel (France) / Dec 2008

Pros: Robust features and extremely fast. I have used this portable software daily (9 to 10 hours a day) for approximately one year. I truly believe this is my most useful software on the windows platform.

Cons: Absolutely none. The more I use the software ==> the more useful advanced features I discover.

Summary: I have purchased/used several explorers over the last 14 years. This software stands in a league all it's own. I use the portable version on a Corsair Survivor GT. I often have 10-12 tabs open at a time (accessing Network drives). XYplorer is extremely fast at accessing the network drives and uses very little resources. Adding templates to the 'New Items' options (right click in a window) ==> provides a great deal of flexibility. The Wiki knowledgebase link (from the developer's web site) provides a wealth of easily understandable information. The scripting is also quite powerful. I spend approximately $1,500 on software each year and this is the best application I own. I liked the software enough to buy a lifetime license (and I very seldom buy these type of licenses). This software is consistently rated 5 out of 5 on many web sites. My review is typical of the comments/ratings posted. Thanks for the great software. SIgned, AS400 Systems Programmer for over 23 years.

W. Droge (USA) / Aug 2008

XYplorer is not about any one particular feature; it's about how all those little parts come together to form a cohesive application. Days, weeks, months after you install this gem you will notice those little treats that will make you smile, and say to yourself, "Mmmm, Nice." Anyone who has used this app for any length of time will see that every feature was carefully considered before it was added. Just USE it. You will love it!

This application is a work of art, it really is that.

Ax Fleming (USA) / Dec 2007

Let's face it, I'm a hopeless techno-junkie. My latest fix, "XYplorer" is the cleverest file management program I have ever encountered and I've been vetting software for quite a few years. Having used several file managers, including dual pane, I was blown away by XYplorer's tabbed interface. This makes flicking between several drive partitions and file groups unbelievably quick and easy.

The multitudinous things this user-friendly program can do continually amaze me but are far too numerous to go into here. It's even more astounding when you realise how small a footprint XYplorer leaves on your hard drive. It does not even have to be installed.

Importantly, I had an almost immediate and very helpful response from the developer himself, when I emailed a few questions. Not bad considering that I'm still waiting for replies months later, from others to whom I've emailed software queries.

Brian D. (Western Australia) / Dec 2007

My previous file manager balked at Vista so I was forced to find a replacement. XYplorer was a shot in the dark that paid off in spades since it had every feature I had been relying upon and MANY more. It installs very quickly and comes up the first time with a nice set of features activated that most users will not need to change.

However, if you are a real power user, there are MANY ways that you can easisly enable other things to make it conform to your specific needs. In fact, there are so many customizable functions and options that it is impossible to describe them all here. The amazing thing is that they work elegantly and do not bloat its size or degrade its blazing performance.

For me, it works flawlessly when browsing a company network server as well as for my local environment. And, although it does all that Windows Explorer does, any attempt to compare them is like comparing apples and oranges. A bonus here is that the developer continues to add meaningful features. Whether you are a casual user of this type of utility or a professional, you will find XYplorer a real winner that is well worth the price.

Eldon M Wright, IT Professional / Nov 2007

XYplorer is perfect for an admin like myself to take with them on an USB memory stick when helping users logged in as users or power users without having to mess around re-authenticating all the time, since they can do a RunAs on XYplorer directly and authenticate just once to then browse to many servers without the need to log the user off and on as them and without constantly being prompted over and over again for credentials, etc.

Windows Explorer does not work well with RunAs. There is a trick of using Internet Explorer instead to get around this, however, this no longer works with Internet Explorer 7.

Using XYplorer instead works great for this! All of my favorite settings will save right to the USB memory stick, and there is no need to have it installed on all the computers that I use it on since it is portable!! Very cool!

Bruce Weston, I.T. Manager at BASIC, www.basiconline.com / Jun 2007

I recently downloaded the trial version of XYplorer and am really impressed! I'm usually one to support open source communities by using and contributing to their software, as I am a software engineer by trade. Yet, there appears to be no open source project that I am happy with for file management on Windows PCs. I am usually very picky about applications' GUIs. As a software engineer, very few applications satisfy my high expectations of both visual aesthetics and usability.

Then I found XYplorer. Everything I want to do with file management is included in XYplorer. Nothing is out of place; everything is so easy to find, even information in the help files.

"I quickly found what I was looking for with your "Backup" option to act as a Copy w/ 'no to all' option that File Explorer and Windows Explorer lacks. I instantly transferred over new and newer version files from one folder on one drive to a duplicate folder on another drive. It found 2 newer versions and a dozen new files out of 16GB of 58,000 files. Wow. It would have taken me days to sort through my files and file the new ones. I might have even missed the new versions all together on my own.

I also found worthwhile options, including one of my favorites: automatic folder size calculations. I have a Western Digital Raptor drive with fast access, so I can take advantage of quick folder size calculations.

John Suit (State College, PA, US) / Jun 2007

I have tried out file managers from Microsoft's own to PowerDesk Pro to Directory Opus to File Commander for MS Vista (Ultimate).

What I have wanted was a file manager that was quick, intuitive, integrates seamlessly with the operating system Ė and does this at minimal overhead in memory and CPU usage. I'd like to move around, copy, move, or delete easily. I'd like to be able to quickly find, preview, and open documents, images, and media.

In a word, XYplorer was a delightful and unexpected discovery. How often does a small upstart company come up with software that runs circles around the "big boys"? XYplorer is the fastest, easiest to install, and most thoroughly useful File Manager I've found since I ran into PowerDesk Pro (which has, unfortunately, been allowed to wither without significant upgrades for several years). XYplorer acts like it was born to be a part of Vista.

I was a little hesitant because of its small size (the old bigger must be better way of thinking). But, well designed software doesn't have to be bloated to be powerful and efficient. XYplorer is certainly both.

So, it's a David and Goliath story in software cyberspace Ė and the little guy has clearly won the day.

Tom Lawson (Webb City, MO, US) / Mar 2007

A creative and formidable file management solution, XYplorer won me over with its easy setup, broad customizability, active development, friendly, responsive forums, and astonishing speed throughout every part of the program. Now I can't live without it!

Zaine Ridling (Chicago, US) / Sep 2006

As a developer and power user I constantly need access to multiple folders which are spread over several drives. XYplorer feels natural and powerful. From being able to see thumbnails and full size JPGs by using the preview panel. To using the find-in-files for searching for code in web pages. The most used feature for me is tabbed browsing and folder bookmarks. Allowing me to work in several areas at once, e.g. business clients folder and my website development folder, without losing my place. PLUS - It doesn't crash!!! The days of Windows Explorer hanging and crashing and stalling the taskbar are over. Thank goodness.

Gordon McKinney (Austin, TX, US) / Aug 2006

I've been searching for an efficient means of managing thousands of Outlook email messages for quite some time now. When I found that XYplorer allows drag and drop copying of Outlook messages with a user-configurable naming convention, I found the solution to my problem. The drag-and-drop feature and the catalog feature allow me to very quickly move messages from of my Outlook Inbox into a user directory structure that is backed-up and search-indexed on a regular basis.

XYplorer is a great product! Very intuitive interface. Favorite features:

  • Drag and drop from Outlook to file system with user customizable file naming
  • Ability to colorize branches of the directory tree
  • Ability to easily change the font size in the directory tree
  • Narrow directory tree style
  • Catalogs for gaining rapid access to often used directories
  • CTRL-P to copy the current path to the clipboard
  • File renaming without the extension being altered
  • Drag-and-drop text to file

Gary R. Consolazio, Ph.D. (Gainesville, FL, US) / Jan 2007

XYplorer can find files that were updated in the last 15 minutes by a single click, which is what solved my need exactly.

John Hallgren (Clearwater, US) / Sep 2006

XYplorer is the ultimate keyboardist's explorer. I can move around with the greatest of ease without resorting to using the mouse -- just the way I like it!

Allen Day (Northern Maine, US) / Sep 2006

I have been a registered user of XYplorer since the days of TrackerV3; March of 2002. It is an indispensable program which I have programmed to open up as soon as I boot up my computer. On the rare occasion where I have required support, Donald Lessau (the Creator) has promptly answered my questions, and has even implemented some suggestions I have made to improve the versatility of XYplorer. Not enough can be said about the quality and usability of this program, which is constantly being upgraded and improved. There are very few programs that can compare to the integrity of this product, period.

James Stogryn (Canada) / Oct 2006

here's what i like about xyplorer:

  • in the directory listing, it can give the sizes of folders and its contents just like msexplorer does files. this helps me out tremendously when i try to clean up my hard drives and figure out where the megabytes are. so far as i, in msexplorer the only way to do this is to look at the properties of a folder; a slow and tedious process
  • it can use different colors of text for different types of files. you specify the colors and the parameters. such as *.doc, *.html, *.jpg, *pic*, etc. makes finding files much easier
  • it has tabbed windows. at first i thought this unnecessary and messy. in msexplorer, i just open up multiple windows and it works fine. but i've come to love this feature. and if you a mouse wheel button configures right, like i do, you can open and close tabs in xyplorer with the click of the mousewheel (just like you can do in firefox).
  • it views file properties, comprehensively, in the bottom of the screen
  • it can do a thumbnail listing with the details next to the file. another feature i love.

these are only the few features i've used so far, but they are enough for me.

scott luepke (Texas, US) / Dec 2006